The first place University of Minnesota team included Maggie Hannahs, Lydia Ninham, and Sheryl Bearheart-Awes. The teacher in the front is Dennis Jones.

Ojibwe Language Quiz Bowl Winners


The 5th Annual Ojibwe Language Quiz Bowl was held at Augsburg College in Minneapolis April 16.

The first and second place winners this year were both teams from the University of Minnesota; third place went to a team from the University of Minnesota at Duluth.

The language bowl, said Jennifer Simon who directs American Indian Student Association (AISA) at Augsburg, helps to give students a goal and a focus for their studies. “They want to learn their language, this brings some intentionality to it.”

Simon worked with American Indian Student Services President Kathy Forliti, who organized the language bowl.

You need to be logged in in order to post comments
Please use the log in option at the bottom of this page