Chickasaw Nation Announces Candidates for General Election



The filing period for the upcoming Chickasaw General Elections closed on June 5, and today the Nation announced the running candidates four the four legislative seats and one judicial seat:

Pontotoc District Seat 5 incumbent Mary Jo Green of Ada, Oklahoma will face challengers Mark Allen Johnson and Linda Greenwood, both of Ada.

Running for the Pickens District Seat 3 will be incumbent Linda Briggs of Marietta, Oklahoma who will face challenger Mike Watson of Lone Grove, Oklahoma.

Incumbent legislator Timothy K. Colbert of Sulphur, Oklahoma, did not receive a challenger for the Tishomingo District Seat 2 position and will retain it.

Beth Alexander of Achille, Oklahoma was also unchallenged and will retain Panola District Seat 1.

The lone judicial seat up for election will be retained by incumbent Supreme Court Justice Mark H. Colbert of Ardmore, Oklahoma as no other candidates filed for Seat 1 on the court.

Voting for candidates will begin July 15 when ballots will be mailed to registered Chickasaw voters. Ballots must be returned to the Chickasaw Nation Election Commission no later than 10:30 a.m. on July 20. No hand delivered ballots will be accepted.

The commission will begin the ballot counting at 11 a.m. following the close of the elections. Results will be announced once all ballots are tallied.

You need to be logged in in order to post comments
Please use the log in option at the bottom of this page