NAJA Announces 2014 Award Winners; ICTMN Earns 17


The Native American Journalists Association announced its 2014 NAJA Award winners on June 26, and Indian Country Today Media Network was honored with 17 awards with the majority of them coming in Professional Division III of online content.

The NAJA awards are broken down into Professional (if you’re Native) and Associate (non-Natives covering Native issues) categories.

ICTMN was honored with the Best Digital Publication award for its 12-page digital newsletter launched in 2013 and first place for General Excellence.

Washington D.C. ambassador Rob Capriccioso led the way for ICTMN writers racking up three awards for the year. Capriccioso took first and second place for Best News Story and third place for Best Feature Story.

ICTMN correspondent Suzette Brewer received two nods, a second-place honor for Best Feature Story and third place for Best News Story.

Among the awards was second place for ICTMN Opinions Editor Ray Cook’s editorial titled, “Memorial Day, the Veterans’ Celebration of the Day of the Dead.”

ICTMN received the first- and second-place honors for Best Column with Steve Russell’s “Blacks and Indians Should Stand Together Against a Common Oppressor,” followed by fellow columnist Ruth Hopkins’s “Suicide as Genocide.”

Rounding out the Professional award winners for ICTMN were correspondent Mary Annette Pember's first-place honor for Excellence in Beat Reporting and correspondent Terri Hansen's second-place nod for Best Environmental Story.

Stephanie Woodard and Gale Courey Toensing earned five Associate Category awards for ICTMN coverage. Woodard received three honors for her coverage of voting rights issues throughout the year that continue to play out leading up to this year’s election.

The Navajo Times pulled in 14 awards in the Division III (circulation above 8,000) Print category for Daily/Weekly publications. Among the honors the newspaper received was Best Layout in Print and General Excellence.

Osage News received 15 awards in the Division III Print category for Monthly/Semimonthly. The Cherokee Phoenix won for Best Layout and General Excellence for the group.

Shannon Shaw Duty earned seven of Osage News’s 15 awards in photo and writing categories.

Other notable Division III winners included: Tristan Ahtone with six awards in radio and online; Donovan Quintero's five photography awards for his work with the Navajo Times; and Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton's four awards with Native American Times.

Top media organizations in Division II (circulation 4,000-8,000) were: Muscogee Nation News earning 11 NAJAs on the year. The Confederated Umatilla Journal received six honors.

Division I’s (circulation below 4,000) top media organizations were: The Eastern Door and Tribal Tribune each garnering seven awards, with The Eastern Door taking Best Layout and Tribal Tribune earning General Excellence.

In conjunction with the 2014 Divisional winners, NAJA announced three distinguished honors for “the highest level of achievement within the field of journalism.”

The 2014 NAJA Elias Boudinot Free Press Award honor went to Osage News “for recognition of their work in highlighting public officials’ responsibility in following open records laws.”

For the second consecutive year Ahtone garnered NAJA’s Richard LaCourse/Gannett Foundation Al Neuharth Investigative Journalism Award.

Finally, the 2014 NAJA Medill Milestone Achievement Award went to Bryan Pollard, executive editor of the Cherokee Phoenix.


You need to be logged in in order to post comments
Please use the log in option at the bottom of this page