American Indian Higher Education Consortium
The five North Dakota Tribal College Presidents met U.S. Senator-elect [at the time] Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) in Bismarck, North Dakota, to discuss Tribal College issues. Pictured from left, are: Russell Mason, Fort Berthold Community College; James Davis, Turtle Mountain Community College; David Gipp, United Tribes Technical College; Heidi Heitkamp; Cynthia Lindquist, Cankdeska Cikana Community College (Chair, AIHEC Board of Directors); and Laurel Vermillion, Sitting Bull College.

National Tribal Colleges and Universities Week Starts November 18


A resolution recognizing the work done by tribal colleges and universities was unanimously approved by the Senate and designates the week of November 18 as National Tribal Colleges and Universities Week.

The resolution was introduced by U.S. Senators Heidi Heitkamp and John Hoeven, and co-sponsored by a bipartisan coalition of 17 senators.

The resolution was adopted as tribal leaders from North Dakota and across the country arrived in Washington, D.C. for the White House Tribal Nations Conference. Thousands of North Dakotans enroll in the state’s five tribal colleges each year.

“We are pleased the Senate came together to adopt our resolution recognizing the importance of tribal colleges and universities in North Dakota and around the country,” Heitkamp and Hoeven said in a statement.  “Tribal colleges and universities provide crucial higher education opportunities to Native Americans, preparing them to succeed in wide-range of careers. Next week will be an excellent opportunity for us to raise awareness about the value of these institutions and how they can help so many Native Americans grow and succeed.”

Tribal colleges and universities operate on more than 75 campuses in 15 states and even one Canadian province and serve students from more than 230 federally recognized Indian tribes.

A map of where tribal colleges and universities are located in Indian Country. (American Indian Higher Education Consortium)