AIANTA Announces Nominations for New Board of Directors, Representatives


Albuquerque, New Mexico (August 20, 2014) – The American Indian Alaska Native Tourism Association (AIANTA) has announced nominations for new representation on its Board of Directors, to be elected at the 16th Annual American Indian Tourism Conference (AITC), taking place at the Paragon Casino Resort in Marksville, Louisiana next month.

AIANTA’s nominating committee presented their slate of nominations to the AIANTA Board of Directors (AIANTA Board) last week. Following Board approval, AIANTA is excited to announce this year’s nominations of Native American leaders to join the AIANTA Board as regional representatives.

RELATED: AIANTA to Host 16th Annual Tourism Conference in Marksville, Louisiana

While AIANTA’s Board has announced their nominations, additional nominations are still being accepted. Further details about submitting nominations can be found below. One regional representative position is up for election or re-election in the Southwest Region, the Midwest Region, the Eastern Region and the Alaska Region.

Board nominations were announced as follows:

·         Southwest Regional Representative: Emerson Vallo, Pueblo of Acoma – New Mexico

·         Midwest Regional Representative: Ernie Stevens III, Oneida Nation – Wisconsin

·         Eastern Regional Representative: Lora Ann Chaisson, United Houma Nation, Louisiana

·         Alaska Regional Representative: Tony Azure, Ketchikan, Alaska

The AIANTA Board is composed of two representatives from six identified regions: Alaska, Eastern, Midwest, Pacific, Plains, Southwest and two At Large positions to represent all of Indian Country. Each representative is elected by their respective region to serve a three year term and At Large representatives are elected by the entire AIANTA membership. Each member of the AIANTA Board brings a multitude of varied expertise and resources to the national nonprofit organization.

Nominated for election as one of the Southwest Regional Representatives, Emerson Vallo from the Pueblo of Acoma in New Mexico is the director of the Sky City Cultural Center and the Haak’u Museum.

Ernie Stevens III, Oneida Nation was nominated to fill the role of Midwest Regional Representative. Stevens is the Executive Director at Native American Tourism of Wisconsin (NATOW).

Nominated to fill the currently vacant role of Eastern Regional Representative, Lora Ann Chaisson is the Vice Principal Chief of the United Houma Nation.

Tony Azure, member of the Ketchikan Indian Community, is up for re-election for one of the two Alaska Regional Representatives. Azure owns and operates Alaska Fish-N-Fun Charters, providing salmon fishing tour to visitors to Ketchikan.

Current AIANTA Board of Directors:

Sherry L. Rupert, President – Southwestern Region

Rachel Moreno, Vice President – Alaska Region

Aimee Awonohopay, Secretary – Midwest Region

Jackie Yellowtail, Treasurer – Plains Region

Rowena Akana – Pacific Region

LaDonna Brave Bull Allard – At Large

Kirby Metoxen – Midwest Region

Tony Azure – Alaska Region

Emerson Vallo – Southwest Region

Janeé Doxtator – Eastern Region

Leslie Johnson – Pacific Region

William D. Lowe – Plains Region

James Surveyor – At Large

Nomination by Petition Details

The AIANTA Bylaws include a provision for nomination by petition. Should any member wish to nominate through the petition process they will need to follow the following procedure: One (1) or more additional nominations may be made for any directorship by petition signed by not less than 10% in the respective region. In the case of an at-large directorship, the petition must be signed by not less than fifteen (15) members. The petition should state that the member nominated has agreed to the nomination. The petition must be sent to the Board Secretary and must be received no later than fifteen (15) days prior to the annual meeting. The deadline to submit the petition is September 1, 2014. In the event that more than one (1) person is nominated for each position to be filled, voting for director positions of the Corporation shall take place at the annual meeting during each regional meeting. At-Large director positions will be elected by a majority of the members present and constituting a quorum at the annual meeting by a written ballot process at the annual meeting.

In the event that only one (1) person is nominated for each position to be filled, an election need not be conducted. Instead, the nominees shall be deemed elected by acclamation and the election results shall be announced at the annual meeting of the membership.

If you have any questions concerning the nomination process, please contact, Rachel Moreno, Nominating Committee Chair at [email protected] or call 907-738-6595 or Camille Ferguson, Executive Director at [email protected] or call 505-724-3592.

You need to be logged in in order to post comments
Please use the log in option at the bottom of this page