Lyle Thompson won his second straight Tewaaraton Award Thursday, May 29, 2015, at the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of the American Indian in Washingtion, D.C.

UAlbany’s Lyle Thompson Wins Tewaaraton Award for Second Straight Year


For the second year in a row, Lyle Thompson, Onondaga, was honored with the Tewaaraton Award, making him the second men’s player in the award’s 15-year history to be a repeat winner.

"It feels good," Thompson said, according to the Associated Press. "I am proud of my team, proud of everything they have helped me with these four years, and everything we have accomplished.

"That is what matters to me -- that the name 2015 UAlbany lacrosse team is on the trophy."

Thompson, who shared the same stage last year with his older brother Miles Thompson as a co-winners of college lacrosse’s highest honor, accepted the award at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian Thursday night in Washington, D.C. And Taylor Cummings, Maryland junior midfielder, also won the award as the best player in women's college lacrosse for a second year in a row.

Thompson beat a group of finalists including Wesley Berg (Denver), Myles Jones (Duke), Matt Kavanagh (Notre Dame) and Kevin Rice (Syracuse).

Lyle Thompson, center, stands with family members, including father and Iroquois Nationals coach Jerome Thompson, and mother Deloris Thompson, to celebrate his win at the Tewaaraton Award ceremony in Washington, D.C., May 28, 2015. (Twitter)

"I think arguably he'll go down as one of the best players to ever play the game of lacrosse and we've been so fortunate that he's played for Albany," UAlbany coach Scott Marr told

When his win was announced, Thompson walked to the podium while receiving a standing ovation from his family members, reported. After allowing the win to sink in, he said, "I'm nervous again. Wish I had Miles up here," the site reported.

On April 14, Thompson passed 2013 Tewaaraton winner Rob Pannell (354 points) as the all-time leading scorer in NCAA Division I men’s lacrosse, and he ended his career with exactly 400 points, a Tewaaraton Foundation press release said. Thompson ended his senior year with 121 points, just 7 points shy of his record setting single-season point total from 2014.

He became the Division I leader with 225 career assists edging out Syracuse attackman Tim Nelson, who held the honor in 1985. Thompson also won his second Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award, being the first men’s player in Division I history with three consecutive 100-point seasons; and he is also the first player in Great Danes history to be named a first-team All-American three straight years, ESPN said.

Earlier this year, Thompson was drafted No. 1 in the Major League Lacrosse collegiate draft to the Florida Launch. It will be something of a UAlbany reunion when Miles, who also wore a Great Danes’s jersey, plays with his brother Miles who was traded to the Launch on May 4.

In a recent interview with ICTMN, Thompson said, “Obviously, I was pretty proud of being drafted, but now that Miles got traded, I’m excited,” Lyle said. “That’s what made Albany so much fun. With me, Miles and [cousin] Ty [Thompson], we had such good chemistry because we played together so long.”

RELATED: UAlbany's Lyle Thompson Ready for Notre Dame Rematch

From Backyard Stick Games to Pro Lacrosse: Miles and Lyle Thompson to Reunite in Florida

Thompson Brothers Share LAX Tewaaraton Award, Make History...Again

You need to be logged in in order to post comments
Please use the log in option at the bottom of this page