Chickasaw Nation Announces Candidates for General Election


Gov. Bill Anoatubby, Chickasaw Nation, and Lt. Gov. Jefferson Keel will retain their seats following this year’s tribal elections according to Rita Loder, Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary though final ballot counting isn’t until July 28.

Loder made the announcement following the filing deadline of June 3 when no challengers had filed giving the team an official one-vote margin victory leading to their reelection.

As for other tribal election news leading up to the final ballot counting there are five tribal seats and one judicial up for election:

— Nancy Elliott will retain Pontotoc District Seat 2 as no challengers filed.

— Shana Tate Hammond will retain Pickens District Seat 4 due to no challengers.

— Scott Wood retains Tishomingo District Seat 1 as no challengers filed.

— Toby Perkins will face challengers Oscar W. Gore and Mary Holden-Nordwall for Pontotoc District Seat 1.

— Pickens District Seat 1 will see incumbent David Woerz face challenger Mike Watson.

— Incumbent Barbara Anne Smith will face challenger Linda English Weeks for Supreme Court Seat 2.

Registered Chickasaw voters will receive ballots by mail on July 9, and must be returned to the Chickasaw Nation Election Commission by 10:30 a.m. July 28. No hand delivered ballots will be accepted.

The Election Commission will conduct and supervise the ballot counting beginning at 11 a.m. at the Chickasaw Community Center with results being announced later that day.

You need to be logged in in order to post comments
Please use the log in option at the bottom of this page