Bruce Bennett – Getty Images
Bryan Trottier holding up the Stanley Cup after winning the NHL championship with the NY Islanders.

NHL Legend Bryan Trottier Inducted Into Canada’s Sports Hall Of Fame

Sam Laskaris

One of the greatest Native professional hockey players ever, recently became a Hall of Famer.


Following an illustrious 18-season National Hockey League career, Bryan Trottier was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997, the first year he was eligible for this accolade.

And now, almost two decades later, Trottier, 60, who has Metis, Cree and Chippewa ancestry, was one of the Class of 2016 inductees into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame on Nov. 1 in Toronto.

As an NHL player, Trottier won the Stanley Cup seven times. His Stanley Cup wins included being part of the New York Islanders four consecutive years, from 1980-83, and he assisted the Pittsburgh Penguins when they won back-to-back championships in 1991 and ’92.

Trottier won the Stanley Cup again in 2001, when he served as an assistant coach with the Colorado Avalanche.

In addition to winning the Stanley Cup seven times, Trottier received many awards during his career, including the Calder Trophy, awarded to the NHL’s top rookie in 1976, the Art Ross Trophy as the league’s top scorer in 1979 (134 points in 76 games) and the Hart Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player.

Trottier also received the Conn Smythe Trophy, awarded to the NHL’s playoff MVP, in 1980 and averaged more than a point per game during his career. He appeared in 1,500 regular season and playoff matches and earned 1,609 points (595 goals, 1,014 assists).

Trottier, who is from Val Marie, Saskatchewan, is one of seven individuals inducted into the Canadian hall this month.

“We are proud to be able to share the stories of the achievements of the Class of 2016 so that we can inspire all Canadians to be the best they can be in all aspects of life,” said Mario Siciliano, the CEO and President of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame.

The other inductees this year are football league champion Michael (Pinball) Clemons, paralympic champion swimmer Stephanie Dixon, creator of the Special Olympics Dr. Frank Hayden, four-time Olympian kayaker and cross country skier Sue Holloway, two-time world curling champion Colleen Jones and Olympic speed skater Annie Perreault.


You need to be logged in in order to post comments
Please use the log in option at the bottom of this page