American Indian College Fund and Coca-Cola Foundation Honors 36 Students

American Indian College Fund and Coca-Cola Foundation Honors 36 Students


The Coca-Cola Foundation and the American Indian College Fund honored 36 Native American student scholarship recipients at its 2011-2012 Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship Banquet held during the American Indian Higher Education Consortium Student Conference in Bismarck, North Dakota.

First year students receive $5,000 for tuition and fees to attend a tribal college or university. If students maintain at least a 3.0 GPA and show participation in campus and the community their first year and throughout their college career, their scholarships are renewed each year they attend tribal college.

Coca-Cola Scholarship recipient Larry P. Madden, Stockbridge-Munsee, a humanities major at the College of Menominee Nation gave a speech to his peers during the annual banquet." I am here to express my humble gratitude, not only for myself, but all of Indian country...for the efforts of the Coca-Cola Company, who has taken the time to just rememeber us; because we are often forgotten in the field of academics," he said.

This year’s scholarship recipients include:

Aaniiih Nakoda College—Jeremy Richey, Biology

Bay Mills Community College—Barbara Chaplin, Accounting and Francis Gardner, undeclared

Blackfeet Community College—Nancy Augare, Office Administration

Cankdeska Cikana Community College—Felicia St. Pierre, Liberal Arts

Chief Dull Knife College—Zackery Donnafield, General Studies

College of Menominee Nation—Larry P. Madden, Humanities

Diné College—Felix Delmar, Elementary Education

Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College—Chad Auginash, Electric Utility Technology

Fort Berthold Community College—Robin Fox, Nursing

Fort Peck Community College—Jayde Clampitt, General Studies

Haskell Indian Nations University—Janice Mendez, Business Administration

Ilisagvik College—Kivvaq Nungasak, Office Administration

Institute of American Indian Arts—Jessie Bennett, New Media Arts and Tyler Tarpalechee, Moving Images /Creative Writing

Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College—Terri Curtis, Liberal Studies

Lac Courte Oreilles Community College—Carla Miller, Natural Resource Management with Emphasis on Renewable Energy

Leech Lake Tribal College—Jackie Blue, undeclared

Little Big Horn College—Richard McCormick Jr., undeclared

Little Priest Tribal College—Jared Keokum Doxey, undeclared

Navajo Technical College—Leann Goodluck, Registered Nursing

Nebraska Indian Community College—Vance Cook Jr., undeclared

Northwest Indian College—Talia Graves, Transfer Degree

Oglala Lakota College—Tiffany Shortbull, Social Work?and Virgil Mclaughlin, Social Work

Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College—Nicole McMullen Nedwash, Liberal Arts

Salish Kootenai College—Shelley Schenderline, Psychology

Sinte Gleska University—Lucelia Fire Cloud, Nursing A.A.S LPN

Sisseton Wahpeton College—Autumn Wiggins, Early Childhood Development

Sitting Bull College—Sterling Chase, General Studies

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute—Abran Chapo, undeclared

Stone Child College—Simone Friede, Elementary Education

Tohono O'odham Community College—Nacho Flores, Liberal Arts Linguistics

Turtle Mountain Community College—Macey Racine, Office Administration

United Tribes Technical College—Lora GreyBear, Business Administration

White Earth Tribal and Community College—Neomonie White, Business

You need to be logged in in order to post comments
Please use the log in option at the bottom of this page


Most Popular Portfolios